Christian Living

My Sin, His Perfection

Lately I have been weighed down by “little sins” spread throughout my day-to-day life. Whether it be a harsh or irritable word to one of my family members or a lost battle with patience, I feel weary and weak as I wrestle with myself. It gets tiring. I can relate with Paul when he states, in Romans 7:19,

“For I do not do the good that I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.”

How true is that statement? I don’t know how many times I sin and then right after I feel sorrowful and repent for doing so. Though I hate it, I do it. As Paul vehemently declares in verse 24, I find myself thinking,

“Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?”

Paul understood something. He understood that he couldn’t do anything about the condition that he was in; that is deliver himself from himself.

Have you ever tried to beat yourself at something? Kind of a lost battle, huh? It would be worthless to even try…you could never “win yourself over”; conquer yourself. We need outside help to defeat ourselves. That is why we needed Christ to die; so he could forever conquer our sinful flesh. And, thus Paul concludes chapter 7 by saying,

“Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.”

He started with the lamentation of his wretchedness and concluded thanking Christ for His work on the cross, for though his flesh still served the law of sin, his spirit was made alive in Jesus’ blood.

So, I find these verses to be very comforting when I find myself weighed down by sin, because I know that Christ has already won the battle. It is also comforting to know that I wouldn’t even be convicted or repent of my sin if it wasn’t for Christ living in me. I think that is one way Christ shows us how much He loves us. I mean, it is like He says, “I love you even though I know who you are apart from me; but it doesn’t stop there…I love you so much that I am not going to leave you in your sin; I am going to daily conform you to be more like Myself.”

I think that is the most beautiful thing about His love. We are so helpless without Him. More and more I have begun to realize just how much I need God. Every day, every hour, every minute, every second. I need Him. And at the end of the day I can truly say, “Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus, just to take Him at His word…how I’ve proved Him o’re and o’re!”

5 thoughts on “My Sin, His Perfection”

Leave a Reply

